Who’s obsessed with Skins, c’mon hands up!

April 15, 2008 at 9:00 pm | Posted in video | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , ,

I hated Dawson’s Creek. I think I must have been one of the only people in my grade who did. C’mon twenty-somethings playing teens? Then talking the way they did? Geez. When I heard about the show Skins I was very skeptical. Another Dawson’s Creek? But thank you someone has done it right. A great cast, great storylines (if not hyper reality), great music and great humour (it’s from the UK so it’s bound to be funny). If you’re like me and you live in Australia, we just got the first series through SBS in Jan, just wondering when they are going to play the second series! I feel slightly old watching it though (a twenty something watching a show about teens).

If you’ve never watched it, or heard of it it’s essentially a group of friends who attend college in Bristol so all 16/17/18 year olds. It’s about them growing up, their relationships, juggling school with friends and family. What I love about it, is the fact that the writers/creators have taken risks. I am not going to spoil it, but essentially they kill off a main character in season 2 and not just any character, a character who is loved as well. They also have made the choice to completely change the cast for series 3. That’s pretty brave, but also logical. The second series ends with them all going their separate ways (as you do after you finish school), so there’s really no reason to continue with this current cast. But given that you grow attached to them it’s definitely brave to cut that off.

What I also love is that they are all over the net. You’ll find them on youtube (where E4 hasn’t become a broadcaster and yanked it off), they have their own myspace page, bebo, facebook, dailymotion, they have filmed scenes that aren’t shown on air just on the net (Unseen Skins), they’ve got their own podcast and even filmed some scenes that were tagged as the Lost Weeks to fill in the gap between season 1 and 2 and they even do Skins parties (quite funny considering all the anger over in Oz about the Corey party incident!)

So if you’re in Oz, I would say head on over to youtube to check it out because who knows when it’s going to be shown here! Here’s a taster … Onto series three for me!

Series 1 preview

Series 2 preview

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I only just last night saw the first episode, but I was darn impressed! I look forward to seeing the rest of it.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

