Dammit I’m Mad – a poem by Demetri Martin

February 15, 2008 at 10:12 pm | Posted in Comedy | 30 Comments
Tags: ,

Dammit I’m mad.
Evil is a deed as I live.
God, am I reviled? I rise, my bed on a sun, I melt.
To be not one man emanating is sad. I piss.
Alas, it is so late. Who stops to help?
Man, it is hot. I’m in it. I tell.
I am not a devil. I level “Mad Dog”.
Ah, say burning is, as a deified gulp,
 In my halo of a mired rum tin.
I erase many men. Oh, to be man, a sin.
Is evil in a clam? In a trap?
No. It is open. On it I was stuck.
Rats peed on hope. Elsewhere dips a web.
Be still if I fill its ebb.
Ew, a spider… eh?
We sleep. Oh no!
Deep, stark cuts saw it in one position.
Part animal, can I live? Sin is a name.
Both, one… my names are in it.
Murder? I’m a fool.
A hymn I plug, deified as a sign in ruby ash.
A Goddam level I lived at.
On mail let it in. I’m it.
Oh, sit in ample hot spots. Oh wet!
A loss it is alas (sip). I’d assign it a name.N
ame not one bottle minus an ode by me:
“Sir, I deliver. I’m a dog”
Evil is a deed as I live.
Dammit I’m mad.

“If you read the poem carefully, you will really witness the genius (or maybe the madness) of Demetri Martin. The entire poem is a palindrome. Brilliant. I watched a special that he did for the BBC a few years ago, when he was in college he developed a crossword for the student newspaper. Except he wasn’t content with a standard up/down crossword, it was one that went up/down/backwards … a 3D crossword. As I said. Mad. 

30 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. woah.

  2. i wonder how much time it took to finish this. pretty impressive.

  3. Holy [Expletive Deleted]

  4. woah thats weird

  5. can somebody explain to me how is this a palindrome?

  6. Just to clarify Bacary or anyone else who isn’t in the clear:
    A palindrome is a word, sentence, phrase or paragraph that is spelt the same backwards as it is forward.
    There is a second type of palindrome in which the words are the same forward and reversed, however in this case it is the order of every letter which is the same whether it is read forwards or backwards.

    Also, yes this is very impressive!

  7. I think it is quite clever, but does it make a good poem?

  8. ^ who cares? this is rediculous

    • I suppose it doesn’t really matter if it is ridiculous, it just shows what comedians do with time on their hands?….

  9. Not a good poem, but the best palindrome i’ve ever heard of. It blows the Sator Square out of the water

    • I agree, I don’t think it would have won any major awards … just an interesting execution of a poem

  10. wow..

  11. This was part of his one man show “If I” a very in depth and funny look at the different meanings of “IF” and how they have arisen during the course of his “I”. It is also the tiny palindrome in the (sort of) middle of the big poem.

    All 6 parts of this show are on YouTube, and are worth a listen, because “The unexamined life is not worth living, man” lol

  12. I came up with my own Palindrome…
    God dog!!!
    Take that Demitri Martin

  13. There are longer versions of palindromes, such as novels that has 30,000 words in it. Now THEY are mad. However, palindromes can be easily created with an Unix Spelling dictionary.

    “A man, a plan, a canal panama.”

  14. That’s incredibly clever!

  15. Umm, I think it’s a really great poem and an amazing palindrome! Demetri Martin is an absolute genius! I bet you don’t think it’s a good poem because you’re merely READING it. You guys gotta understand the poem. Understand, don’t just read. Look deeper into the poem, and I’m sure you’ll agree how amazing the poem is. But, maybe not. x] Different people like different things I suppose! Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. =]

    • I know, it’s an excellent poem if you analyse it.
      English pays off.

  16. awesome. Love Demetri.

  17. Demetri Martin is a genius. Important things is quite possibly the funniest thing I’ve watched in ages. It really needs to be longer than half an hour. Sigh… Then I have to wait a whole week… Screw going on Youtube!

  18. This guy is a genius.

  19. rats live on no evil star

    • Yay palindrome!!!

      • awesome palindrome: rats live on no evil star!!

  20. roger is a palindrome!! Man im smart my teacher gave me an A+ when i put that in one of my essays on palindromes

  21. monkey fish is a palindrome

  22. I love this poem!
    It’s just brilliant!
    And kinda creepy, too…
    I wonder how much time he wasted on thinking of this palindrome-poem.
    You know, if you’d put me in a cave for 50 years, with a dictionairy, even then… No, I’d never come up with it.

  23. Somebody had WAY too much time on his hands.

  24. All true

  25. ppl see things in their own way..but you know what, literary minds would be blown away by that poem..it has meaning..he is awesome!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

