My weird crush … everyone has one

February 3, 2008 at 10:42 pm | Posted in concerts, music | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

This is my confession. I have a weird crush on Richard Tognetti. Maybe it’s not a crush. I think it’s more that I am in awe of him. He is a genius. If you don’t know who he is, he is the artistic director of the ACO (Australian Chamber Orchestra). He became the artistic director at the age of 24 (which is the age I am now, so it seems to be a little overwhelming). I have seen them play a few times, and find him absolutely fascinating. I first saw him play at the opening ceremony of the Rugby World Cup in 2003 in Australia. You could really see the passion and the skill as he threw himself into the performance. He broke string, after string on his violin but that didn’t stop him.I found this clip of him and Neil Finn (another person I am in awe of). But he looks kind of lost here! I think one of the main reasons is the fact that the ACO all perform standing up. He conducts the orchestra whilst playing his violin, so perhaps being so restrained has thrown him off?    

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Beautiful song. Lot of downtime for the violinist though, which might be why he looks lost.

    See him play a few times – once was an intimate rehearsal with the ACO. Very impressive.

    Couldn’t say I have a weird crush on him, but I’m incredibly envious. (Which I think is what boy crushes most often are).


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

