My Arch nemesis

December 14, 2007 at 8:34 am | Posted in hmmm, Me | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

I have just worked it out. It has taken me years to finally realise and understand. My one true enemy in the world, my arch nemesis are in fact  lids. Lids on jars, water bottles, bins, perfumes … whatever, it doesn’t matter, they are all out there to make me look weak!

If it only happened on one occasion I wouldn’t think twice, but unfortunately it is an everyday occurrence. My most recent encounter:

It was a bright and sunny day, in fact hitting the dial at 30 degrees, and I was walking down the street when my sister stopped and asked, “thirsty?” I thought about it for a moment, then realised I actually was. There was a shop just further down the street and we thought that we could just buy some water from there. Stepping into the takeaway shop I had no idea what I was in for. I opened the fridge door. My hand hovered over the iced teas but decided to stay true and I picked up a bottle of water. I paid $2.20 to the shop keep and walked out with my sister (who had in fact bought an iced tea AND a bottle of water).

It was not until we had walked a bit of a distance back up the street that I decided to open the bottle. I went for the lid, got some purchase and twisted. Nothing happened. I repeated the gesture. Nothing! Dammit! I gave the bottle to my sister to have a go. She even struggled. What’s going on? This water clearly does not want to be drunk. I made the choice to go back to the shop and ask someone there to open it. I walked back in, said to the tiny Asian woman behind the counter, “I just can’t open it!” I held up the offending bottle. She looked from the bottle, to me. She gestured to the bottle. I handed it over and in one movement opened the bottle quick as a flash. She made it look so easy. She then handed it back over, and gave me the look that said “Geez, you’re pathetic”. I just shrugged and said I couldn’t open it.

I walked out the shop, and swore at the bottle. Foiled again!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Maybe they should sell canned water … ?

  2. Please oh please keep writing! Your articles are wonderful!

  3. Toddski! Canned water … there’s an idea. If we were in the UK we could go on Dragons Den and pitch that 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

