Bookaholics Anonymous

May 31, 2007 at 12:06 am | Posted in books | 3 Comments

Paul Colman’s blog Life in the Middle is a great read for me. And he recently blogged about books and unusual places to have them. The fact that you accumulate them as you go along. I’m a bit far from where he is at, but I can see the likeness. My bookshelf is sagging down the middle. I have had to change the layout of my books, from a normal librarian format, to face down. And they are two rows deep as well. I have them piled up in a separate smaller shelf and next to my bed. It’s funny though, when you love books and love a book you want to talk to other people about them, I guess that’s why bookclubs exist.

I can’t remember exactly how I discovered this site but there’s a network that caters to us devourers of books called Good Reads . Like every other social networking site you set up your profile, and then you have the job of

a) listing the books you have read in the past…and review them

b) list the books you are currently reading

You can look at what other people have recommended and are currently reading. So far I have only invited my colleague James and my friend Ursh, because I know they are bookaholics. But I just haven’t had the chance to invite anyone else. Mainly because I don’t really know anyone else who loves books as much as we do…

I see one major flaw with Good Reads. Now I have already explained that I have books coming out of my sock drawers etc, so reviewing each book is going to take a hell of a lot of time! Now I would be the kind of person who would do that, but I just think about whether it’s really worth it. So perhaps the benefit is not to backtrack what you have read, but to look more to the present and the future.

The site did get me thinking about what books are “worthy” for me to review. And interesting enough, a lot of my favourite books, well books I remember and have stayed with me came from when I was younger. I think it’s because I’m older, I put energy into work and therefore want to read something more light, easy to get through, easy to pick up and drop when I need to. So my top 5 reads are:

1. Mandragora by David McRobbie (this book made me stay up late as a kid, and read until the early hours of the morning)

2. The Water Tower by Gary Crew (a picture book but definitely not for kids because it freaked me out)

3. The Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich (chick lit and just a great character)

4. The copy by Paul Jennings. A short story that introduced me to the “twist” in narrative.

5. Animalia and the Eleventh Hour by Graeme Base (Where’s Wally but so much better)

Now I am doing this from memory so there is bound to be so many more that I can’t think of at the moment. If I do, I will update. How about you? Favourite books or books that have stayed with people?

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You are not alone, I’m also a bookaholic. I have them all over the house. If you love books you might want to check a few sites.

    The Book’s Den
    http://booksden.wordpress.com

    Book Homestead (http://bookhomestead.com) This site is under construction but will have a way to reward those who review books they have listed on their site. You can also create your community in their forum section and interact with other readers in all kinds of topics generated by them. I think you would enjoy it. Make sure you bookmark it and participate on their grand opening.

  2. interesting blog.

  3. Thanks Clary, nice to know I’m not a freak! Clearly I’m not. There are a whole lot of closet book lovers out there. Come out, come out whereever you are!

    Thanks Krissnp not sure what aspects of the blog you found interesting but thanks for the feedback.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

