Stand up and Joke Off…

May 29, 2007 at 12:35 am | Posted in Comedy | Leave a comment

I am obsessed with comedy. It’s just one of those things. So I was contemplating it the other day, when Rachael sent through a link to a comedy group from NZ who now have a TV show in the states. I remember seeing Flight of the Conchords on the Melbourne Comedy Festival some years ago, and then not really hearing from them again. Then suddenly they pop up!

I got thinking about their style of humour, and realised that I have always gravitated towards musical comedy for some reason. So I thought I’d have a stand off between three acts that I have loved.

Ahhh the nineties…Doug Anthony Allstars: Paul McDermott, Tim Ferguson and Richard Fidler. I was really young when they were popular so I didn’t get to see them live. But I thought they were absolutely hilarious. They essentially introduced me to comedy, and understanding dynamics in group comedy. When you watch their stuff, you can see the different part that each of them plays. Paul the popular one, Tim the weird one and Richard the one they always pick on. It’s funny seeing comedy groups now because you can see these “characters in others”. NEXT…

Twothousands: Probably not the best example of their stuff. Tripod recently did a show called Lady Robots. My gosh it was hilarious, just incredibly intelligent show (a narrative). They have been going strong for a while now and are a regular on the Australian comedy circuit. The most interesting gig I ever saw them at was when they supported The Presidents of the United States of America. It was one of the most bizarre line ups/decision for a support act I have seen. How great for PUSA/touring company/record company to recognise Tripod. And Finally…

Now: oh dear. When I first saw them I thought they were alright. But now they just take things to a new level. I actually think musically/lyrically they are better than Tripod. They don’t need to dance in order to get laughs. It is a great example of writing. Hopefully their show on HBO keeps going!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

